PureLift Face or Medicube Age-R Booster Pro X2, $499 Against $249

Medically reviewed by

4 independent reviewers

Andrew Conrad Barile, PT, DPT

Andrew Conrad Barile, PT, DPT

Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) | Licensed Physical Therapist (PT) | CEO and Founder, Xtreem Pulse LLC

Read bio

Dr. Andrew Conrad Barile is a Doctor of Physical Therapy and the CEO and Founder of Xtreem Pulse LLC, the engineering company behind PureLift. He earned his Doctorate in Physical Therapy from Daemen College and is a licensed physical therapist.

He brings over two decades of clinical and entrepreneurial experience across physical therapy, craniosacral therapy and medical device innovation, built on a working knowledge of human anatomy and muscle physiology.

For PureLift LAB he reviews how current is delivered across all ten levels, from sub-sensory nanocurrent and skin-level microcurrent to motor-level EMS, and how the Infuse pass fits into the same ten-minute routine.

Bertica M. Rubio, M.D.

Bertica M. Rubio, M.D.

Board-Certified Physician, Dartmouth Medical School | Medical Director, Antiaging Regenerative Medicine Clinic

Read bio

Dr. Bertica M. Rubio is a board-certified physician and Medical Director of the Antiaging Regenerative Medicine Clinic in Redlands, California. She earned her Doctor of Medicine from Dartmouth Medical School and completed her pediatrics residency at UC Irvine Medical Center.

With decades of clinical experience, she specialises in age management medicine, regenerative medicine, wound healing and growth factor therapies, and her practice integrates evidence-based medical science with advanced aesthetic treatment.

For PureLift LAB she reviews articles for medical accuracy across the whole dial, from the gentle nanocurrent and microcurrent settings through to muscle-level EMS and the Infuse pass.

Daniel Grinberg, MD, FACS

Daniel Grinberg, MD, FACS

Board-Certified Otolaryngologist | Head and Neck Surgeon | Fellow, American College of Surgeons | Mount Sinai

Read bio

Daniel Grinberg, MD, FACS is a board-certified otolaryngologist and head and neck surgeon at ENT and Allergy Associates in West Nyack, New York. He earned his medical degree from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons.

He completed his otolaryngology residency at New York University Medical Center, serves as Assistant Clinical Professor at Mount Sinai School of Medicine, and is a Fellow of both the American College of Surgeons and the American Academy of Otolaryngology.

For PureLift LAB he brings a wider clinical lens, connecting at-home facial stimulation from microcurrent to EMS to the anatomy underneath, with the same rigour we apply to every device specification.

Prof. Dr. med. Ivo Buschmann

Prof. Dr. med. Ivo Buschmann

Chair of Angiology, Medizinische Hochschule Brandenburg | Clinic Director, University Clinic for Angiology

Read bio

Prof. Dr. med. Ivo Buschmann is Chair of Angiology at the Medizinische Hochschule Brandenburg Theodor Fontane and Clinic Director of the University Clinic for Angiology at the Brandenburg University Hospital.

He trained at the University of Hamburg, was a Max Planck Society Fellow at the Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, and held senior consultant posts at the Charite Universitatsmedizin Berlin before his appointment as Chair in 2016.

One of Europe's leading authorities on arteriogenesis, with over 150 peer-reviewed publications and US and EU patents, he reviews for PureLift LAB how the evidence on electrical stimulation is read and where its limits lie.

What's This About:

Medicube's Age-R Booster Pro X2 sells at $249 and bundles several modes into one handle across six intensity levels.

This article compares the two on what decides the result you actually see, such as:

- What Medicube tells you

- Why the missing output figure matters

- What PureLift Face publishes

- Where Medicube is the better buy

and many more!

The honest version of this comparison is that half of it cannot be made, because Medicube does not publish the numbers; we make PureLift, so here is what each side does and does not disclose.

Key Points:

Medicube does not publish a current output figure for the Booster Pro X2, so no milliamp or microamp comparison is possible.

We searched the FDA 510(k) database and found no record for the device.

Medicube states microcurrent and a Booster absorption mode; EMS is not stated.

PureLift Face publishes 7 mA at 500 ohms, a 4 microsecond pulse width, and FDA clearance K190269.

At $249 against $499, the price gap is real and worth taking seriously.

What Medicube tells you

The Age-R Booster Pro X2 is a Korean device that combines several modes in one handle across six intensity levels, with a Booster mode aimed at helping serums absorb. Medicube is a large skincare brand and the Age-R line has been genuinely popular, particularly in Korea and increasingly outside it.

What the brand publishes is the mode list and the level count. What it does not publish, as far as we can find, is the current output in either microamps or milliamps, the frequency, or the pulse width.

We also searched the FDA 510(k) database and found no record for the device. That does not mean it is unsafe or that it is not sold legally in its own markets, but it does mean an American buyer cannot look up a clearance number the way they can for the devices in this category that have one.

Why the missing output figure matters

Current is what decides which band a device is working in. Ward's work sets out three thresholds as current rises: sub-sensory, sensory, and motor, the last being where a nerve fires a muscle (PMID 19095805).

Without a published figure there is no way to know which of those bands the Booster Pro X2 reaches, and the mode names do not settle it, because brands use words like toning and lifting across the whole range. Six levels tells you the dial has six positions, not what the top one delivers.

That is the gap, and it is why this comparison stops short of a specification table.

What PureLift Face publishes

Six technologies on a ten-level dial: Infusion, iontophoresis, nanocurrent, microcurrent, EMS and PDM.

Levels 1 and 2 are nanocurrent and microcurrent, and from level 3 the current crosses the motor threshold and the muscle contracts. Face reaches 7 mA at 500 ohms with a 4 microsecond pulse width, cleared under FDA K190269 dated 28 August 2019. Microcurrent in that band is not nothing, and a 2022 systematic review found measurable effects on wound healing at sub-motor intensities (10.1016/j.jtv.2021.12.002), which is the honest case for it.

PDM, Pulsed Dynamic Modulation, cycles through 361 frequency points between 1,370 and 1,730 Hz rather than holding one frequency, which keeps a ten minute session comfortable instead of fatiguing.

Infusion and iontophoresis run together in Infuse mode with any water-based serum, so the absorption job the Booster mode is aiming at has a named mechanism here: Infusion opens temporary routes through the outer skin layer and iontophoresis moves charged ingredients along them. Iontophoresis is not a marketing word for absorption; Zhang and colleagues measured the increase in vitamin C penetration it produces (10.1016/S0378-5173(99)00058-3).

The devices are made in Japan in an ISO 13485 facility by a company that has made facial stimulation devices, and nothing else, since 1987.

Where Medicube is the better buy

Two hundred and fifty dollars is a serious difference and nobody should pretend otherwise. If you are unsure whether you will stick with a facial device at all, spending half as much to find out is a sensible way to run the experiment.

Medicube also has a real following, and people who use the Age-R devices tend to like them; a device you enjoy using beats a better-specified device you resent. The brand's wider skincare range is well regarded and the ecosystem is coherent.

If a published output figure and an FDA record are not things you were going to check anyway, that gap costs you nothing in practice.

How to choose

Buy the Age-R Booster Pro X2 if price is the deciding factor, you want to try the category before committing, and you are comfortable with the specification not being published.

Buy PureLift Face if you want to know exactly what current you are applying, you want EMS as well as the calm settings, and you want a clearance number you can look up.

Three minutes per side is the maximum on any PureLift model, and the ten minute session ends on its own.

For the full technology breakdown, see how the nine PureLift technologies work.

This comparison sits inside our full map of the category, where we set out all 33 devices we track, what each one carries and what each brand publishes: Nine Technologies on One Dial, What the Rest of the Market Actually Carries.

Back to blog