Facial Toning Device NuFACE, How It Compares to Other Brands
Medically reviewed by
4 independent reviewers

Andrew Conrad Barile, Physiotherapeut, Doktor der Physiotherapie
Doktor der Physiotherapie (DPT), Lizenzierter Physiotherapeut (PT)
Read bio
Dr. Andrew Conrad Barile ist Doktor der Physiotherapie sowie CEO und Gründer von Xtreem Pulse LLC. Er erwarb seinen Doktortitel in Physiotherapie am Daemen College und bringt über zwei Jahrzehnte klinische und unternehmerische Erfahrung in der pädiatrischen Physiotherapie, Craniosacraltherapie und medizinischen Geräteinnovation mit. Sein tiefes Verständnis der menschlichen Anatomie, Muskelphysiologie und therapeutischen Technologie bietet einen wissenschaftlich fundierten Ansatz für Gesichtsverjüngung und Anti-Aging-Lösungen.

Bertica M. Rubio, M.D.
Medizinischer Direktor, Anti-Aging-Regenerationsmedizinische Klinik | Facharzt | Dartmouth Medical School
Read bio
Dr. Bertica M. Rubio ist eine zertifizierte Ärztin und medizinische Leiterin der Anti-Aging-Regenerationsklinik in Redlands, Kalifornien. Sie erwarb ihren Bachelor of Science an der Loyola Marymount University und ihren Doktortitel in Medizin an der Dartmouth Medical School (Geisel School of Medicine). Ihre Facharztausbildung in Pädiatrie absolvierte sie am UC Irvine Medical Center.
Mit jahrzehntelanger klinischer Erfahrung spezialisiert sich Dr. Rubio auf Altersmanagement, regenerative Medizin, Wundheilung und Wachstumsfaktor-Therapien. Ihre Praxis verbindet evidenzbasierte medizinische Wissenschaft mit fortschrittlichen ästhetischen und regenerativen Behandlungen, um Patienten zu optimaler Gesundheit und jugendlicher Vitalität zu verhelfen.
Dr. Rubio ist leidenschaftlich daran interessiert, Patienten über die Wissenschaft hinter Hautpflege, Gesichtsverjüngung und nicht-invasiven Technologien wie EMS (Elektrische Muskelstimulation) zur Gesichtstonung aufzuklären. Ihre Artikel für PureLift LAB verbinden fundiertes medizinisches Wissen mit praktischen Anleitungen für echte, nachhaltige Ergebnisse.

Daniel Grinberg, MD, FACS
Facharzt für Hals-Nasen-Ohren-Heilkunde und Kopf-Hals-Chirurgie | Fellow des American College of Surgeons | Assistenz-Professor für Klinische Medizin, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Read bio
Daniel Grinberg, MD, FACS, ist ein von der Ärztekammer zertifizierter Hals-Nasen-Ohren-Arzt und Kopf-Hals-Chirurg bei ENT and Allergy Associates in West Nyack, NY. Er erwarb seinen medizinischen Abschluss an der Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, absolvierte seine Facharztausbildung in Hals-Nasen-Ohren-Heilkunde am New York University Medical Center und ist Assistenzprofessor an der Mount Sinai School of Medicine. Er ist Fellow sowohl des American College of Surgeons als auch der American Academy of Otolaryngology.
Dr. Grinbergs Perspektive als Kopf-Hals-Chirurg bietet den Lesern von PureLift LAB eine erweiterte klinische Sichtweise — er verbindet die EMS-Anwendung zu Hause mit der zugrunde liegenden medizinischen Anatomie mit derselben wissenschaftlichen Genauigkeit, die wir auf jede Gerätespezifikation anwenden.

Prof. Dr. med. Ivo Buschmann
Lehrstuhl für Angiologie, Medizinische Hochschule Brandenburg | Klinikdirektor, Universitätsklinik für Angiologie, Brandenburgisches Klinikum | Ehemaliger Oberarzt, Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Read bio
Prof. Dr. med. Ivo Buschmann ist Lehrstuhlinhaber für Angiologie an der Medizinischen Hochschule Brandenburg Theodor Fontane (MHB) und Klinikdirektor der Universitätsklinik für Angiologie am Brandenburgischen Universitätsklinikum. Er absolvierte seine medizinische Ausbildung an der Universität Hamburg, war Max-Planck-Gesellschaft-Stipendiat am Max-Planck-Institut für Herz- und Lungenforschung und hatte leitende Oberarztpositionen an der Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin Campus Virchow inne, bevor er 2016 zum Lehrstuhlinhaber an der MHB berufen wurde.
Prof. Buschmann ist einer der führenden europäischen Experten für Arteriogenese – das durch Fluss angetriebene Wachstum und die Umgestaltung von Blutgefäßen – mit mehr als 150 begutachteten Veröffentlichungen und mehreren US- und EU-Patenten für Geräte, die das Wachstum von Kollateralgefäßen durch kontrollierte Scherkräfte-Therapie stimulieren. Seine Forschung verbindet mechanische und elektrische Stimulation mit vaskulärer Anpassung, Mikrozirkulation und Gewebeperfusion.
Die Beiträge von Prof. Buschmann bieten den Lesern von PureLift LAB eine gefäßbiologische Perspektive, die unsere bestehenden Autoren aus den Bereichen Klinik, Physiotherapie und chirurgische Anatomie ergänzt – und erklären, wie EMS-Stimulation nicht nur die Gesichtsmuskeln, sondern auch die Mikrozirkulation, die sie versorgt, aktiviert und warum eine intelligente Anwendung auf der Ebene des Blutflusses ebenso wichtig ist wie die Muskelkontraktion.
Teilen
NuFACE is the best known facial toning device and holds FDA clearances, but it does not publish its output and requires a branded gel, while several rivals publish output figures or work with any conductive serum.
This comparison covers what separates NuFACE from other brands, such as:
- the NuFACE models and what each costs
- how NuFACE compares on published output
- the real yearly cost of the branded gel
- where a rival is the better choice
- where NuFACE is the better choice
and many more!
We make PureLift, one of the brands compared here, so every competitor figure comes from that brand's own published material as checked in September 2026.
Key Points:
NuFACE lists the TRINITY+ Starter Kit at $395, the MINI+ Starter Kit at $250 and the FIX at $175, and all three hold FDA clearances you can look up.
NuFACE does not publish an output figure, while TheraFace PRO publishes 500 microamps, FOREO BEAR 2 publishes up to 680 microamps and MyoLift Mini publishes up to 400 microamps.
NuFACE requires a branded gel from around $35, which adds a running cost that devices working with any conductive serum avoid.
NuFACE is the better choice if you want the most familiar brand with a cleared device at the entry level.
No study has compared NuFACE with another consumer device head to head, so results depend more on regular use than on the brand.
The NuFACE range
NuFACE TRINITY+
The flagship at $395, with interchangeable attachments and clearances K212947 and K201782. Our review is in our TRINITY+ review.
NuFACE MINI+
A smaller version, listed by NuFACE as a $250 Starter Kit and cleared under K191672. How it compares with our entry model is in PureLift Face vs NuFACE MINI+.
NuFACE FIX
A small pen-style device at $175 aimed at the lines around the eyes and mouth, cleared under K240564 and K182424.
NuFACE against the other brands
NuFACE vs ZIIP HALO
ZIIP HALO costs $399.99, runs nanocurrent and microcurrent, holds clearances K212342 and K161484, and also requires branded gels priced from $29.99 to $79.99. Neither brand publishes output. The full comparison is in NuFACE vs ZIIP HALO.
NuFACE vs FOREO BEAR 2
FOREO BEAR 2 costs $339 and publishes up to 680 microamps. We could identify a clearance for the original BEAR, K200803, but not for BEAR 2. See FOREO BEAR 2 vs NuFACE TRINITY.
NuFACE vs Therabody TheraFace PRO
TheraFace PRO costs $419.99, publishes 500 microamps, holds clearance K212238 and adds LED and percussion. See TheraFace PRO vs NuFACE TRINITY.
NuFACE vs MyoLift
MyoLift Mini costs $329 and publishes up to 400 microamps, with the MyoLift QT cleared under K213078. See MyoLift QT vs NuFACE TRINITY.
NuFACE vs PureLift
PureLift Face costs $499, publishes up to 7 mA at 500 ohms and holds clearance K190269. Our devices run nanocurrent at level 1, microcurrent at level 2 and EMS from level 3 to 10, plus an Infuse pass, on one dial, with a ten minute session and no more than three minutes per side of the face.
Because the dial extends into EMS, our output is in milliamps, a different technology class rather than a stronger version of microcurrent. See PureLift vs NuFACE.
Side by side summary
NuFACE TRINITY+, $395, published output not stated, cleared, branded gel required.
NuFACE MINI+, $250 Starter Kit, published output not stated, cleared, branded gel required.
ZIIP HALO, $399.99, published output not stated, cleared, branded gel required.
FOREO BEAR 2, $339, up to 680 microamps, original BEAR cleared.
Therabody TheraFace PRO, $419.99, 500 microamps, cleared.
MyoLift Mini, $329, up to 400 microamps, MyoLift QT cleared.
PureLift Face, $499, up to 7 mA at 500 ohms, cleared, any water-based conductive serum.
Every published figure across the market is in our table of published output figures.
The yearly cost of the gel
NuFACE requires its own gel, starting around $35. Used five times a week, a tube runs out within weeks, so the gel can add well over $100 a year.
ZIIP has the same model with its own gels. Devices that work with any water-based conductive serum, including ours, avoid this running cost.
The two year math is in our article on branded gel costs.
When NuFACE is the better choice
When your budget is around $250 and you want a cleared device from the best known brand, the MINI+ is the better buy than anything of ours.
When you want the brand with the most reviews and the most professional familiarity.
When you want a gentle microcurrent-only routine with no stronger EMS setting.
When another brand is the better choice
When you want a published output figure, TheraFace PRO, FOREO BEAR 2 and MyoLift publish one and NuFACE does not.
When you want to avoid a branded gel.
When you want microcurrent and EMS on one dial, which NuFACE does not offer.
A checklist for any brand is in our guide to choosing a facial toning device.
Do not use any facial current device if you have a pacemaker or other implanted electronic device, if you are pregnant or if you have epilepsy, and skip broken or irritated skin. The full list is in our safety article.
Frequently asked questions
Is NuFACE a facial toning device
Yes. NuFACE devices use microcurrent to tone the facial muscles for a firmer, more lifted look with regular use.
Which NuFACE device is best
The TRINITY+ at $395 is the most versatile, the MINI+ Starter Kit at $250 is the entry-level option and the FIX at $175 targets lines around the eyes and mouth.
What is better than NuFACE
No study shows another consumer device gives better results. Rivals differ on published output, gel requirements, price and technologies.
Do you have to use NuFACE gel
NuFACE requires its branded gel. Some other devices, including ours, work with any water-based conductive serum.
Is NuFACE worth the money
It is the best known cleared device, and the MINI+ Starter Kit at $250 is the entry-level way in. The ongoing gel cost should be added to the price.
This article sits inside our full map of the category, where we set out all 33 devices we track, what each one carries and what each brand publishes: Nine Technologies on One Dial, What the Rest of the Market Actually Carries.