Facial Toning Device NuFACE, How It Compares to Other Brands
Medically reviewed by
4 independent reviewers

Andrew Conrad Barile, kinésithérapeute, DPT
Doctorat en physiothérapie (DPT), physiothérapeute agréé (PT)
Read bio
Le Dr Andrew Conrad Barile est docteur en physiothérapie et PDG ainsi que fondateur de Xtreem Pulse LLC. Il a obtenu son doctorat en physiothérapie à Daemen College et possède plus de vingt ans d'expérience clinique et entrepreneuriale en physiothérapie pédiatrique, thérapie craniosacrale et innovation en dispositifs médicaux. Sa profonde connaissance de l'anatomie humaine, de la physiologie musculaire et des technologies thérapeutiques offre une approche scientifique précieuse pour le rajeunissement du visage et les solutions anti-âge.

Bertica M. Rubio, M.D.
Directeur Médical, Clinique de Médecine Régénérative Anti-âge | Médecin Certifié par le Conseil | École de Médecine de Dartmouth
Read bio
Le Dr Bertica M. Rubio est une médecin certifiée et directrice médicale de la clinique de médecine régénérative anti-âge à Redlands, en Californie. Elle a obtenu son Bachelor of Science à l'Université Loyola Marymount et son Doctorat en médecine à la Dartmouth Medical School (Geisel School of Medicine). Elle a effectué sa résidence en pédiatrie au UC Irvine Medical Center.
Forte de plusieurs décennies d'expérience clinique, le Dr Rubio est spécialisée en médecine de gestion du vieillissement, médecine régénérative, cicatrisation des plaies et thérapies par facteurs de croissance. Sa pratique intègre la science médicale fondée sur des preuves avec des traitements esthétiques et régénératifs avancés, aidant les patients à atteindre une santé optimale et une vitalité juvénile.
Le Dr Rubio est passionnée par l'éducation des patients sur la science derrière les soins de la peau, le rajeunissement du visage et les technologies non invasives comme l'EMS (stimulation électrique musculaire) pour le tonus facial. Ses articles pour PureLift LAB allient connaissances médicales rigoureuses et conseils pratiques pour obtenir des résultats réels et durables.

Daniel Grinberg, MD, FACS
Otolaryngologiste et chirurgien de la tête et du cou certifié par le conseil | Membre, American College of Surgeons | Professeur clinique adjoint, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Read bio
Daniel Grinberg, MD, FACS, est un oto-rhino-laryngologiste certifié par le conseil et chirurgien de la tête et du cou chez ENT and Allergy Associates à West Nyack, NY. Il a obtenu son diplôme de médecine au Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, a effectué sa résidence en oto-rhino-laryngologie au New York University Medical Center, et est professeur clinique adjoint à la Mount Sinai School of Medicine. Il est membre de l'American College of Surgeons et de l'American Academy of Otolaryngology.
La perspective chirurgicale de la tête et du cou du Dr Grinberg offre aux lecteurs de PureLift LAB une vision clinique élargie — reliant la pratique EMS à domicile à l'anatomie médicale sous-jacente avec la même rigueur scientifique que celle que nous appliquons à chaque spécification d'appareil.

Prof. Dr med Ivo Buschmann
Président d'Angiologie, Hochschule Medizinische Brandenburg | Directeur de clinique, Clinique universitaire d'angiologie, Hôpital universitaire de Brandebourg | Ancien consultant principal, Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Read bio
Le Prof. Dr. med. Ivo Buschmann est titulaire de la chaire d'angiologie à la Medizinische Hochschule Brandenburg Theodor Fontane (MHB) et directeur de la clinique universitaire d'angiologie à l'hôpital universitaire de Brandebourg. Il a effectué sa formation médicale à l'Université de Hambourg, a été boursier de la Société Max-Planck à l'Institut Max-Planck de recherche sur le cœur et les poumons, et a occupé des postes de consultant principal à la Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin Campus Virchow avant d'être nommé titulaire de la chaire à la MHB en 2016.
Le Prof. Buschmann est l'une des principales autorités européennes en arteriogenèse — la croissance et le remodelage des vaisseaux sanguins induits par le flux — avec plus de 150 publications évaluées par des pairs et plusieurs brevets américains et européens sur des dispositifs stimulant la croissance des vaisseaux collatéraux par une thérapie contrôlée du taux de cisaillement. Ses recherches relient la stimulation mécanique et électrique à l'adaptation vasculaire, à la microcirculation et à la perfusion tissulaire.
Les contributions du Prof. Buschmann apportent aux lecteurs de PureLift LAB une perspective en biologie vasculaire qui complète notre expertise clinique, en physiothérapie et en anatomie chirurgicale — expliquant comment la stimulation EMS engage non seulement les muscles faciaux mais aussi la microcirculation qui les alimente, et pourquoi une administration intelligente est aussi importante au niveau du flux sanguin qu'à celui de la contraction musculaire.
Partager
NuFACE is the best known facial toning device and holds FDA clearances, but it does not publish its output and requires a branded gel, while several rivals publish output figures or work with any conductive serum.
This comparison covers what separates NuFACE from other brands, such as:
- the NuFACE models and what each costs
- how NuFACE compares on published output
- the real yearly cost of the branded gel
- where a rival is the better choice
- where NuFACE is the better choice
and many more!
We make PureLift, one of the brands compared here, so every competitor figure comes from that brand's own published material as checked in September 2026.
Key Points:
NuFACE lists the TRINITY+ Starter Kit at $395, the MINI+ Starter Kit at $250 and the FIX at $175, and all three hold FDA clearances you can look up.
NuFACE does not publish an output figure, while TheraFace PRO publishes 500 microamps, FOREO BEAR 2 publishes up to 680 microamps and MyoLift Mini publishes up to 400 microamps.
NuFACE requires a branded gel from around $35, which adds a running cost that devices working with any conductive serum avoid.
NuFACE is the better choice if you want the most familiar brand with a cleared device at the entry level.
No study has compared NuFACE with another consumer device head to head, so results depend more on regular use than on the brand.
The NuFACE range
NuFACE TRINITY+
The flagship at $395, with interchangeable attachments and clearances K212947 and K201782. Our review is in our TRINITY+ review.
NuFACE MINI+
A smaller version, listed by NuFACE as a $250 Starter Kit and cleared under K191672. How it compares with our entry model is in PureLift Face vs NuFACE MINI+.
NuFACE FIX
A small pen-style device at $175 aimed at the lines around the eyes and mouth, cleared under K240564 and K182424.
NuFACE against the other brands
NuFACE vs ZIIP HALO
ZIIP HALO costs $399.99, runs nanocurrent and microcurrent, holds clearances K212342 and K161484, and also requires branded gels priced from $29.99 to $79.99. Neither brand publishes output. The full comparison is in NuFACE vs ZIIP HALO.
NuFACE vs FOREO BEAR 2
FOREO BEAR 2 costs $339 and publishes up to 680 microamps. We could identify a clearance for the original BEAR, K200803, but not for BEAR 2. See FOREO BEAR 2 vs NuFACE TRINITY.
NuFACE vs Therabody TheraFace PRO
TheraFace PRO costs $419.99, publishes 500 microamps, holds clearance K212238 and adds LED and percussion. See TheraFace PRO vs NuFACE TRINITY.
NuFACE vs MyoLift
MyoLift Mini costs $329 and publishes up to 400 microamps, with the MyoLift QT cleared under K213078. See MyoLift QT vs NuFACE TRINITY.
NuFACE vs PureLift
PureLift Face costs $499, publishes up to 7 mA at 500 ohms and holds clearance K190269. Our devices run nanocurrent at level 1, microcurrent at level 2 and EMS from level 3 to 10, plus an Infuse pass, on one dial, with a ten minute session and no more than three minutes per side of the face.
Because the dial extends into EMS, our output is in milliamps, a different technology class rather than a stronger version of microcurrent. See PureLift vs NuFACE.
Side by side summary
NuFACE TRINITY+, $395, published output not stated, cleared, branded gel required.
NuFACE MINI+, $250 Starter Kit, published output not stated, cleared, branded gel required.
ZIIP HALO, $399.99, published output not stated, cleared, branded gel required.
FOREO BEAR 2, $339, up to 680 microamps, original BEAR cleared.
Therabody TheraFace PRO, $419.99, 500 microamps, cleared.
MyoLift Mini, $329, up to 400 microamps, MyoLift QT cleared.
PureLift Face, $499, up to 7 mA at 500 ohms, cleared, any water-based conductive serum.
Every published figure across the market is in our table of published output figures.
The yearly cost of the gel
NuFACE requires its own gel, starting around $35. Used five times a week, a tube runs out within weeks, so the gel can add well over $100 a year.
ZIIP has the same model with its own gels. Devices that work with any water-based conductive serum, including ours, avoid this running cost.
The two year math is in our article on branded gel costs.
When NuFACE is the better choice
When your budget is around $250 and you want a cleared device from the best known brand, the MINI+ is the better buy than anything of ours.
When you want the brand with the most reviews and the most professional familiarity.
When you want a gentle microcurrent-only routine with no stronger EMS setting.
When another brand is the better choice
When you want a published output figure, TheraFace PRO, FOREO BEAR 2 and MyoLift publish one and NuFACE does not.
When you want to avoid a branded gel.
When you want microcurrent and EMS on one dial, which NuFACE does not offer.
A checklist for any brand is in our guide to choosing a facial toning device.
Do not use any facial current device if you have a pacemaker or other implanted electronic device, if you are pregnant or if you have epilepsy, and skip broken or irritated skin. The full list is in our safety article.
Frequently asked questions
Is NuFACE a facial toning device
Yes. NuFACE devices use microcurrent to tone the facial muscles for a firmer, more lifted look with regular use.
Which NuFACE device is best
The TRINITY+ at $395 is the most versatile, the MINI+ Starter Kit at $250 is the entry-level option and the FIX at $175 targets lines around the eyes and mouth.
What is better than NuFACE
No study shows another consumer device gives better results. Rivals differ on published output, gel requirements, price and technologies.
Do you have to use NuFACE gel
NuFACE requires its branded gel. Some other devices, including ours, work with any water-based conductive serum.
Is NuFACE worth the money
It is the best known cleared device, and the MINI+ Starter Kit at $250 is the entry-level way in. The ongoing gel cost should be added to the price.
This article sits inside our full map of the category, where we set out all 33 devices we track, what each one carries and what each brand publishes: Nine Technologies on One Dial, What the Rest of the Market Actually Carries.