Medicube Age-R Booster Pro Review, Is the Viral Device Worth It
Medically reviewed by
4 independent reviewers

Andrew Conrad Barile, PT, DPT
Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) | Licensed Physical Therapist (PT) | CEO and Founder, Xtreem Pulse LLC
Read bio
Dr. Andrew Conrad Barile is a Doctor of Physical Therapy and the CEO and Founder of Xtreem Pulse LLC, the engineering company behind PureLift. He earned his Doctorate in Physical Therapy from Daemen College and is a licensed physical therapist.
He brings over two decades of clinical and entrepreneurial experience across physical therapy, craniosacral therapy and medical device innovation, built on a working knowledge of human anatomy and muscle physiology.
For PureLift LAB he reviews how current is delivered across all ten levels, from sub-sensory nanocurrent and skin-level microcurrent to motor-level EMS, and how the Infuse pass fits into the same ten-minute routine.

Bertica M. Rubio, M.D.
Board-Certified Physician, Dartmouth Medical School | Medical Director, Antiaging Regenerative Medicine Clinic
Read bio
Dr. Bertica M. Rubio is a board-certified physician and Medical Director of the Antiaging Regenerative Medicine Clinic in Redlands, California. She earned her Doctor of Medicine from Dartmouth Medical School and completed her pediatrics residency at UC Irvine Medical Center.
With decades of clinical experience, she specialises in age management medicine, regenerative medicine, wound healing and growth factor therapies, and her practice integrates evidence-based medical science with advanced aesthetic treatment.
For PureLift LAB she reviews articles for medical accuracy across the whole dial, from the gentle nanocurrent and microcurrent settings through to muscle-level EMS and the Infuse pass.

Daniel Grinberg, MD, FACS
Board-Certified Otolaryngologist | Head and Neck Surgeon | Fellow, American College of Surgeons | Mount Sinai
Read bio
Daniel Grinberg, MD, FACS is a board-certified otolaryngologist and head and neck surgeon at ENT and Allergy Associates in West Nyack, New York. He earned his medical degree from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons.
He completed his otolaryngology residency at New York University Medical Center, serves as Assistant Clinical Professor at Mount Sinai School of Medicine, and is a Fellow of both the American College of Surgeons and the American Academy of Otolaryngology.
For PureLift LAB he brings a wider clinical lens, connecting at-home facial stimulation from microcurrent to EMS to the anatomy underneath, with the same rigour we apply to every device specification.

Prof. Dr. med. Ivo Buschmann
Chair of Angiology, Medizinische Hochschule Brandenburg | Clinic Director, University Clinic for Angiology
Read bio
Prof. Dr. med. Ivo Buschmann is Chair of Angiology at the Medizinische Hochschule Brandenburg Theodor Fontane and Clinic Director of the University Clinic for Angiology at the Brandenburg University Hospital.
He trained at the University of Hamburg, was a Max Planck Society Fellow at the Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, and held senior consultant posts at the Charite Universitatsmedizin Berlin before his appointment as Chair in 2016.
One of Europe's leading authorities on arteriogenesis, with over 150 peer-reviewed publications and US and EU patents, he reviews for PureLift LAB how the evidence on electrical stimulation is read and where its limits lie.
Share
The Medicube Age-R Booster Pro X2 is $249 and packs in more modes than anything else at the price, which is a genuine achievement and comes with a catch.
This review covers what you are actually buying, such as:
- What the modes do and which one matters
- The specification Medicube does not publish
- What we could and could not find in FDA records
- Who it genuinely suits at $249
and many more!
We sell a competing device, so every claim here is sourced and the limits are stated in both directions.
Key Points:
At $249 it is the cheapest multi-mode device in the category and it earns its popularity.
Medicube publishes no output figure, so there is no way to compare its strength against anything.
We found no FDA clearance record for it in our September 2026 check.
It has a booster mode for serum absorption, which most devices at this price do not.
Whether it contracts a facial muscle is not stated by the brand and we could not verify it.
Why it went viral
The Age-R range achieved something few skincare devices manage, real momentum across TikTok and Instagram rather than paid placement alone.
The reason is straightforward, it offers several modes in one handset at a price where most competitors offer one, and it looks good doing it.
At $249 against $395 to $420 for the microcurrent names, the value proposition is obvious before anyone reads a specification.
None of that is a criticism, and packing more into a cheaper device is a legitimate way to compete.
What it offers
Microcurrent is on board, working at skin level in the way microcurrent does, which is the mode most buyers are after.
There is a booster mode aimed at serum absorption, and that genuinely is unusual at this price since most devices under $400 have nothing equivalent.
It runs six levels and does not require a proprietary gel or an app, so there is no recurring cost attached to owning it, which several pricier devices cannot say.
It is made in South Korea.
The specification that is missing
Medicube does not publish a maximum output figure for the Booster Pro X2, in microamps or milliamps.
Without a number there is no way to compare its strength against FOREO BEAR 2 at 680 microamps, Therabody TheraFace PRO at 500, ZIIP Halo at 309 or NuFACE Trinity+ at 170 to 200.
For those three competitors the figure at least exists in FDA clearance documents even though none prints it on its own site, so the number can be found by anyone willing to dig.
In our September 2026 check we found no FDA clearance record for the Medicube Age-R Booster Pro X2, which is a factual observation about what we could locate rather than an accusation.
Its EMS capability is not stated by the brand either, so whether it crosses the motor threshold and contracts a facial muscle is a question we cannot answer from published material.
Why the missing number matters
A review of kilohertz-frequency stimulation describes three thresholds present in everyone, the point you feel the current, the point the muscle moves and the point it hurts (Ward 2009).
Whether a device crosses the second of those is the only specification that changes what it can do, since a device below it works on skin and a device above it works on muscle.
A mode count does not answer that question, because adding modes to firmware costs a manufacturer nothing and tells you nothing about output.
So a buyer comparing six modes at $249 against one mode at $399 is comparing the wrong axis, and the useful comparison is what each device reaches.
Who it suits
If your concern is texture, dullness or fine lines, all of which live in the skin, this is a reasonable buy and $249 is a fair price for a well-made multi-mode device.
If you want to try a device without committing several hundred pounds, it is a sensible entry point and you can move up later having learned what you actually use.
If your concern is a softening jawline, that change lives in the muscle layer and you need a device whose manufacturer states plainly that it reaches it.
The declared comparison
We make PureLift, so treat this section as an interested party's account and check the numbers yourself.
PureLift Face is $499, twice the price, and publishes 7 mA at 500 ohms under FDA record K190269, running nanocurrent at level 1, microcurrent at level 2, EMS from level 3 to 10 and an Infuse pass carrying Infusion and iontophoresis.
The evidence for the muscle side is Kavanagh 2012, which measured an 18.6 percent increase in cheek-muscle thickness in 108 women after twelve weeks (Kavanagh 2012), a trial that used its own device rather than a PureLift.
No randomised trial has compared these two devices against each other, so the comparison rests on published specifications rather than on a measured result.
The verdict
Good device, honest price, real popularity, and a specification sheet with the most important line missing.
Buy it if skin-level work is what you want, and ask Medicube for an output figure before buying it for anything else.
Competitor prices and specifications verified in September 2026 against each brand's own website and, where the brand publishes no figure, its FDA clearance documents.
Two related questions come up often alongside this one, and we have answered both in full: Medicube and Solawave compared, and why these devices are almost certainly not FSA or HSA eligible.